The Cooking Activist

Let me introduce myself.  My name is Libby Mahoney and I own my own small business.  It stills sounds weird to say that… “How dare I say that out loud, I’m not qualified to own a business!”  That is doubt that does not come from God.  He created me and He didn’t make any mistakes!  It’s by His grace that I can run a business and by His power that I am qualified to do it!  His word says:

“He did not waver at the promise of God through unbelief, but was strengthened in faith, giving glory to God and being fully convinced that what He had promised He was also able to perform.”  Romans 4:20 NKJV.  I hope that encourages someone today!

I am a stay-at-home mom with four children!  That alone is enough to keep me busy.  I am a former VPK teacher as well.  I left my career, which I had worked on since I was 20, to stay at home with my kids.  A few years ago, God placed the dream in my heart to start my business and to do it in faith!  I needed a way to earn a living and still be with my children.  Their ages range from 4 to 10 with the youngest still at home, until August that is.  My baby will be starting VPK in the fall, a fact that I still struggle with daily!

Mahoney Children

My business started out as a way to raise awareness about human trafficking and modern-day slavery and that has remained the main focus and purpose of the business.  I’ve called it The Cooking Activist Company and I am known as The Cooking Activist.  It all happened by a happy accident!  I started a blog in 2010, to talk about my struggles with food allergies and my passion for human trafficking awareness.  I started a twitter account, @libmahoney, in order to bring traffic to my blog and someone I met through twitter, Robin Rossmanith, started calling me The Cooking Activist and it stuck!  I started out as a vendor, giving away cookies, and with the passage of the cottage food legislation, I was able to start to sell my baked goods!

My business has evolved from there.  I met my business partner, Monica Greenblott, through one of the events that I did and we incorporated in October 2012 as Health and Justice Enterprises, LLC.  The Cooking Activist Company is now a division of that LLC.

The Cooking Activist Company is our baked goods vendor for farmers markets and vendor events in Northeast Florida.  I am also a personal chef and soon to be caterer for private parties and public events.  We are active in the community and we still set up for human trafficking awareness events.  We have done events with the Northeast Florida Human Trafficking Task Force, Rethreaded, Shop to Stop Slavery, World Relief, SCT Now, Junior League of Jacksonville, Made By Survivors and more!

1 cooking 7

It blows my mind at all that God has done in me and through my business!  We are planning on setting up a commercial kitchen in St. Johns County that we will rent out to other small businesses.  I will then be able to expand The Cooking Activist Company into a wholesale bakery and catering service!

Through Health and Justice Enterprises, we plan on setting up a non-profit company that will establish a home for children aging out of the foster system and homeless teenagers.  The money that we make with the bakery and commercial kitchen, over and above the operating costs, will go to fund our non-profit company, Health and Justice Foundation.
1 cooking 5

Currently, we are regular vendors at The St Johns River Farmers Market located in Alpine Grove Park in Fruit Cove.  We are there about 2-3 times each month on Saturdays from 10am – 2pm.  We sell organic baked goods and we use fair trade and non-gmo ingredients in our products.  We offer Classic Chocolate Chip cookies, Gluten-Free chocolate Chip Cookies, Raspberry and Apricot Thumbprints, Delightful Oatmeal with coconut oil, raisins, and chocolate, Peanut Butter Cookies, Cashew Butter Granola, and Mini Cupcakes with vanilla, chocolate, and coffee flavors.

1 cooking 11 cooking 21 cooking 6

We are currently looking for volunteers to help with baking and running our vendor booth!  If anyone is interested please email Libby: thecookingactivist@gmail.com.  We are receiving offers to do events, but are unable to make any more commitments until we have other like-minded people to help us in our mission!

I hope everyone has a fabulous day!  Remember, whatever God brings you to, He will bring you through!  Don’t give up on your dreams!

Yours Truly,

Libby Mahoney
The Cooking Activist, changing the world one cookie at a time…

One thought on “The Cooking Activist

Leave a Reply

