Jump N Jax

by Kathleen McArthur, owner of Jump N Jax

1 jump n jax

I usually get asked, “What exactly is Jump N Jax?” Well, Jump N Jax is a semi-annual consignment sale event located at 4397 Roosevelt Blvd. We’re not open year round and we currently operate two sales, two times a year. We have our Kids Sale, which has everything you need for raising a kid: pack n plays, strollers, toys, nursing equipment, clothes from newborn to size 12, shoes, sporting gear and so much more! Our brand new All Grown Up Sale started in February and features name brand clothing (like Banana Republic, Lilly, Ann Taylor, Lacoste and much more) for kids sizes 10-20 and all ladies sizes, including plus size and maternity. We also have purses, shoes, accessories, books, small home decor, sporting goods, etc.

1 jump n jax kids toys

1 jump n jax purses

I’m currently busy prepping for our Back to School Sales occurring this August! We’ve timed our next sales to take place before school starts back up to help everyone get their back to school wardrobes for less. Our Kids Sale will be happening August 1-4, coinciding with the Florida Tax Free Weekend of Aug 2-4. We’re also introducing a Teacher’s Pre-Sale on Tues, Aug 13, 3-8pm for our All Grown Up Sale.  (Public dates for this sale are Aug 14th-18th.) Teachers will need to show their school IDs at the door. All the sale dates and times are on our website – www.JumpNJax.us.

Our Back to School Sale is up and running for consignors and volunteers to register. Our website has all the information on how to get started, how to tag and prep your items and what to expect. We love our volunteers, as the sale just isn’t as successful without them! Our volunteers shop first and if they’re also consignors then they have the opportunity to earn more on their sales.  But you don’t have to be a consignor to volunteer!

Once you go to one of our events, you’ll be hooked. I know I was!  I’m actually the third owner of Jump N Jax. It started many years ago with Marcia Weeks in her garage. My husband and I bought it from Tiffany Wheeler and her mother Patsy Justice in 2012 and are getting ready to put on our third sale as the owners. When I moved to Jacksonville a few years ago, Tiffany was the coordinator of the MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) group I joined. She and Patsy put on their first sale shortly thereafter and I attended as a shopper. That first sale got me hooked! From then on, I was always a shopper and volunteer. I eventually became a consignor as well. I loved being a part of it and was honored to take it over when Tiffany and Patsy were ready to move on to other adventures. 

Since taking over Jump N Jax, I’ve continually taken risks trying to grow the brand and the sale. With the introduction of the All Grown Up Sale, the first of its kind in our area (Avondale/Ortega), we decided to update the logo to reflect that it’s not just for kids anymore. I’ve also introduced more perks for volunteers, a Drop-N-Go service, reusable shopping bags, a new website, Facebook contests, and with our new sale, we’ve had more of an opportunity to contribute to local charities.  For this upcoming sale, we’ve teamed with my MOPS group (a non-profit) to provide a tagging service. St. Mark’s MOPS will do all the work and share the proceeds of the sales with the consignor.

During every sale, our consignors have the opportunity to donate their items that did not sell. With our last two sales in February, we were able to donate a significant amount of goods to the following non-profit organizations: Miriam’s Basket, Downtown Ecumenical Services Council of Jacksonville, the Quigley House, the Salvation Army and Shower of Hope. I’m always blown away by the generosity of our consumers and by the gratitude of the organizations.

1 jump n jax store

1 jump n jax kids

Here is a little about me, I’m a stay-at-home mother of two. My daughter just finished kindergarten and will turn six next month! I also have a two year old little boy. I have a degree in Computer Science and I never thought I would be running a consignment sale! I love it though; it’s always changing, I meet new people and it’s a ton of fun! It is a lot of work and I couldn’t do it without the support of my family and our wonderful consignors and volunteers. I’m also grateful to Carrie and the Jacksonville Women’s Small Business network for the opportunity to learn, grow and support each other!

1 kathleen

One thought on “Jump N Jax

  1. Donna

    Another great blog. Kathleen does an awesome job with her consignment sales. She works hard and is a caring and giving person. I am so glad to have met her and many other amazing women thanks to Carrie bringing us all together! Great job ladies 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

